Whoa!

Browsing in a consignment store today, I saw them hanging on the rack, turquoise, straight leg and get this, paisley! That’s right! Paisley! Took me back to the seventies when paisley was really cool to wear. Oh my and the bell bottoms we wore, you remember some of you, don’t you? The wide leg jeans and pants that covered your feet and hugged your thigh. I told a nearby customer, that my memory was over and time to move on. I did my time, thank you.

Now I do think Paisley is a pretty pattern and I like to see it done tastefully. I even have a paisley shirt that I enjoy wearing. I just can’t see myself, a plus size lady, wearing paisley pants. Now, maybe they would like nice, I didn’t try them on, didn’t check to see if they were the right size. Have to wear a solid color shirt to go with them. The clothing seems to reflect our thinking in each era. And music and other media too.

I will just go back to the fifties when everything was seemingly clean and fun and upbeat in spite of the Korean War. Of course that Mississippi boy comes along and starts swinging the hips on stage and starting a raucous! What was his name?? Elvis Aaron Presley….. Maybe he started the trend towards being a little freer with expression. He helped bridge a much-needed gap with music that’s for sure.

He merged the blues with rock and out came some incredible music! Guys started wearing their hair like he did, their pants the same length. The ladies wore the long skirts, the sweaters and pony tails. Soda shops, dances, hanging out, going steady. But we weren’t quite that grown up yet. Still kids.

The sixties brought psychedelic rebellion in the form of Woodstock and the hippie counterculture. I tend to think maybe they were just trying to tell us that we should leave Vietnam well enough alone and focus on ourselves. I’m sure some didn’t know how to deal with whatever was bothering them so they just found artificial ways to soothe their pain. Then again most were just expressing themselves in ways they weren’t allowed to in the past. The seventies carry on but kind of mellow out some of the turmoil. Bell bottoms still ruled and long hair and maxi dresses and tie dye.

Eighties were neon colored goofy times filled with some good music and definitely good movies. Think Breakfast Club, On Golden Pond, Raiders of the Lost Ark to name a few.. no I am not going to name all the teen movies that were popular back then. Okay one, Fast Times at Ridgemont High. Oh boy. Nineties, we are fast approaching the more sophisticated look with sleeker clothing, less of the bulk but yes the big hair rules, sigh. Technology is really hitting us big. Those new things, you know, pagers and then those mobile phones you carry around. Yeah those, big and bulky but now they can be as thin as a credit card.

Here we are in the 21st century, nothing is held back anymore, it’s all out in the open, with nothing left to the imagination. Nothing is kept private, with You Tube being  seconds away from displaying whatever it is we have just done. Scary thought. I don’t know, maybe I want to go back to paisley bell bottoms and bubble gum rock, for a just a little while. Life was survived without the cell phones, pagers, and ipads, and such. We knew where to find one another. You picked up the phone and dialed the number on the rotary. Take me back, Dream Weaver, I’m waiting….

8 thoughts on “Whoa!

  1. There are some fascinating points in time on this article however I don’t know if I see all of them heart to heart. There may be some validity however I’ll take hold opinion until I look into it further. Good article , thanks and we wish extra! Added to FeedBurner as well

  2. There are some fascinating points in time on this article however I don’t know if I see all of them middle to heart. There may be some validity but I’ll take hold opinion till I look into it further. Good article , thanks and we want more! Added to FeedBurner as well

  3. Hello there, I discovered your website by the use of Google while searching for a similar subject, your web site got here up, it seems good. I’ve bookmarked to my favourites|added to my bookmarks.

Leave a Reply

