Thinking About The Rush

Only a few days left to buy those gifts! The stores will bark the ads on the radio and in the newspapers. Oh and don’t’ forget the television ads. Now they just have to add to the anxiety of the consumer who still needs to find a few things on their list.  Just can’t have them not walk in the store empty handed. Or worse, just not shop at all. Oh wait a minute, there are the constant emails that clog the inboxes telling me that I am running out of time, and this is it, no more chances. Oh dear what to do.

To be honest, I don’t like crowds and I am not a fan of the hottest item of the moment. True there are some cool things out there, but to be honest, I don’t feel a great urge to go and grab them off the shelf just to say “I have this”! I’m a weirdo when it comes to shopping, I take my time and when I see what I want to get for that someone special, and I will get it for them. No heart attack on the sales floor, no EMT required. And no fighting either!  That part is still a mystery to me.

This time of year I watch the specials which are my favorite thing to do, in addition to decorating the tree and driving around and seeing the lights. Can’t others see how much they are missing? The outside decorations on some houses are so pretty, they just pop against the dark night sky. You can tell they had fun putting their design together. And what about the tree decorating? Did you ever think about how each ornament tells a story about your life? First, home, new baby, maybe an interest like sports, maybe a career choice, a movie you like, or characters you enjoy, like snoopy (one of my favorites)..

Slow down, breath, enjoy the time you have with those you care about. This is not the season to rush and fight and grab, it’s the season of caring and sharing. You know all year should be this way, shouldn’t it?

 

4 thoughts on “Thinking About The Rush

  1. Gifts, in my opinion are the easiest of the tools to spoil relationships. Invariably we end up receiving what we least require, or something that does not meet our standards. A friend of mine made an exclusive cupboard as a buffer stock of the received gifts, to be passed on. He is lucky he has not yet received a gift after completion of the cycle. For the last 30 years I have neither given nor taken a gift. I did not add to the rush at the malls, I did not create extra funds for the government to indulge in further corruption, I mean the sales or value added tax…

    My gift to my loved ones, is that I just listen to them attentively ..

  2. The gift of time and one’s attention is very precious, Mike. There is nothing wrong with it. You are making it known that you care about your family and friends and that means alot to them.

Leave a Reply

