What a Reminder

The Vienna Boys Chior was singing on the radio. One of the most beautiful songs I have ever heard  and still brings me tears. Most of you might even know the name. “Little Drummer Boy” Such rich, vibrant voices and  rousing music that just flows with their harmony making it seem as if they just practiced one time. Sure they had to repeat themselves several times over and had to drink lots of water in the process, and the nearby drug store sold out of throat lozegens too, don’t you think?

Though I confess to not being able to sing every word of the this Christmas carol, what I manage to remember is done with great feeling.  This song, about a humble beginning, the largest Birthday Party in the world, is a reminder about why this season is so important. While I was singing with the chior, I didn’t worry about the gifts that I might need to buy or the cards that I still have to make and send, nope.

Peace surrounded me and I was happy, stress free for a little while, in my van, driving back home, focused on the real reason for Christmas, and it sure isn’t a retailer’s fantasy, either. No, it’s the pretty poinsetta, the one that my son and his classmates helped to grow and sold to me and others with great pride. (They’re selling them as a fundraiser for class) There so many to choose from and you could tell they had taken such care in growing each of them. I let my son choose the one I would take home. He really did good. December, like the rest of the year, is thinking about what is really important: family, friends, time together, small things the make one feel so special, calling to say hello, smiling at a stranger, giving of ones time, just like Jesus has been doing since he arrived that one holy night in Bethlehem.

One thought on “What a Reminder

Leave a Reply

