Just How I See You

Okay I have to get on a platform and state what’s on my mind. I think everyone is human. There I said it. Strange, hu? Too look past a wheelchair or maybe the fact that someone may have mental disability, but hey I tend to be just that way. Disabilities don’t define a person nor should they. There are examples of people who have succeeded in life because they had the desire to and I firmly believe the support they needed. Helen Keller, Stephen Hawkins, Ray Charles, to name a few. And yet, sometimes we get in the habit of describing others as “the one who can’t walk” or “can’t see”. I’d rather talk about the person as a human being first, disability far down the list.

 My beef even goes further than just special needs. I don’t like describing others by race either. I get uncomfortable with it. I don’t necessarily like to say he/she is black or whatever. Wish someone could tell me if there’s a better way. We come from all over the world and can’t be boxed into package. Yes, we are different, of course we are, but the one thing we all are is human. And we do share some basic feelings, wants, and needs, even if we have different reasons for them. It’s okay, we’re together in one world tied together through the bond of just being human.

Leave a Reply

